Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.  (Read 75379 times)

Offline NS_37

  • JointedRail Artist
  • Global Administrator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1240
  • This is personal
    • JointedRailProductions
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #30 on: June 13, 2009, 02:59:04 AM »
doh! yea bill you are right... i guess i thought that it was not reversed. ill update the pack in a bit.


Offline Ghost44

  • Brakeman
  • Posts: 33
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #31 on: June 13, 2009, 03:13:50 AM »
doh! yea bill you are right... i guess i thought that it was not reversed. ill update the pack in a bit.

Thanks. I was starting to dive into arn coding. I guess ill save that for another day.

I do have two questions about the arn that are bugging me.

How do i get rid of that letter after numbers on the side? I have figured out that its the check and i deleted it out of the config and deleted the tga and script file for it and yet the white box still shows up.

Is it possible to move the side numbers around without 3ds max or gmax?

Offline NS_37

  • JointedRail Artist
  • Global Administrator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1240
  • This is personal
    • JointedRailProductions
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #32 on: June 13, 2009, 03:31:57 AM »
ok i uploaded the noarn files again. this time i included no dynamic brake versions too.

as for modifying the southern unit with the check code plate, youd have to make check.tga with a transparent alpha to get rid of it, also just taking out the number_check_code   "1" in the config will disable the check script.


uh no you couldnt move the number plates without the source, or a really good understanding of binary mesh files.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2009, 03:39:46 AM by NS_37 »


Offline s-driver

  • Fixing your own mistakes means job security.
  • Forum Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 4226
  • Hacking up hairballs since 1965.
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #33 on: June 13, 2009, 03:22:34 PM »
It don't really surprise me that one side was reversed.  I'm so use to flipping the mapping the correct way around that I assumed everyone did that.  Silly me. :bonk:  Thanks for updating that Justin.  If Ghost44 hadn't have found that it wouldn't have been long before I would have.  I'm doing a skin on it right now.

Bill

Offline NS_37

  • JointedRail Artist
  • Global Administrator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1240
  • This is personal
    • JointedRailProductions
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #34 on: June 13, 2009, 10:13:18 PM »
i use arn normally, so i probably wouldnt have noticed. i know i had it right once, but it probably got changed again when i moved the oringal auran number boards from their incorrect location and tried to correct them somewhat.


Offline Ghost44

  • Brakeman
  • Posts: 33
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #35 on: June 14, 2009, 07:12:36 PM »
Update



Need to fix the R in CR.
I'll attempt weathering after I finish another A and B unit. That way its a ABBA.
I'm gonna try to make the consist interesting with a special b unit. with CR overwriting.

Offline s-driver

  • Fixing your own mistakes means job security.
  • Forum Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 4226
  • Hacking up hairballs since 1965.
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #36 on: June 14, 2009, 07:20:48 PM »
That looks much better. :thumbsup:

Bill

Offline jadebullet

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 2166
Switching out the horns on the F7s?
« Reply #37 on: June 18, 2009, 12:11:02 AM »
I am just wondering if there is any way to switch out the horns on the F7s, or are they part of the mesh. The reason that I ask is because I am currently redoing my Reading F7 skin, and while the Reading FP7s had M5s, the rest of their cab units were equipped with two single horns(A200s?). As I am using the Southern F7A as the base due to its single headlight setup, I currently have an M5 equipped on it. It is just a minor detail, so if it isn't able to be switched, it is fine, I was just trying to get it as realistic as possible and I don't know much about altering stuff like this.

Offline NS_37

  • JointedRail Artist
  • Global Administrator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1240
  • This is personal
    • JointedRailProductions
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #38 on: June 18, 2009, 01:36:04 AM »
well, no. i should have, but i didnt. the noarn version however has the a-200s on it.


Offline jadebullet

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 2166
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #39 on: June 18, 2009, 02:49:02 PM »
I feel really kinda dumb right now, but where do I get the noarn version of the F7A.

Offline NS_37

  • JointedRail Artist
  • Global Administrator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1240
  • This is personal
    • JointedRailProductions
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #40 on: June 18, 2009, 06:40:25 PM »


Offline jadebullet

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 2166
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #41 on: June 18, 2009, 11:33:38 PM »
Whoops, my bad on that one. That was my fault for not being observant. Thanks again for the help.

Offline Ghost44

  • Brakeman
  • Posts: 33
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #42 on: June 19, 2009, 02:54:40 AM »


I'm not an expert on EL paint schemes, so how close does that look?

Here are the color codes im using, if someone has exacts to compare with.
Grey: R:122 G:121 B:116
Maroon: R:109 G:27 B:29
Yellow: R:229 G:177 B:48

All i need to do now is weathering on all four of my F7's.

Offline bobbyisaac

  • Conductor
  • Posts: 65
    • Zoom World
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #43 on: July 08, 2009, 11:39:21 PM »
i've alyways been a big fan of the F7's and after seeing another being created i decided to give my talents from another sim game a go with trainz



this is far from done. i do think my yelow is a bit too bright after looking at the real loco a bit more. i will also need to update my logos and get the horse mounted up  front

looking for feedback on this one. having some trouble getting the hand rails on the B unit to be yellow as well

Offline s-driver

  • Fixing your own mistakes means job security.
  • Forum Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 4226
  • Hacking up hairballs since 1965.
Re: Jointed Rail F7 reskin help.
« Reply #44 on: July 09, 2009, 12:31:24 AM »
At the bottom of the very first post in this thread is a pic showing what part of what image is for the hand rails on the B unit.  It's a thumbnail image.  Just click on it to enlarge it.

Bill