Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Editing JA files  (Read 8919 times)

Offline PerRock

  • Road Foreman
  • *
  • Posts: 478
  • Official #trainz chat killer
    • Amtrak Trainz Group
Editing JA files
« on: February 09, 2011, 03:13:35 AM »
while not 'kosher' in Auran's books I was digging around in the JA files with a program I have. and attempted to "reskin" some built in stuff. the only issue is that I cannot put the reskins back into the JA files. I was curious if any of you had any suggestions on how to go about this.

peter


Quote from: NS_37
and this is our part of the forum... ill post naked jewish midget slamdancing if i want to. :P

Offline NS_37

  • JointedRail Artist
  • Global Administrator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1245
  • This is personal
    • JointedRailProductions
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 03:51:37 AM »
long as the file and configs are intact it should work outside of the .ja. i dont think youll be putting them back in.


Offline PerRock

  • Road Foreman
  • *
  • Posts: 478
  • Official #trainz chat killer
    • Amtrak Trainz Group
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2011, 03:57:08 AM »
CMP doesn't allow the commiting of -1 kuids so one cannot re-import stuff back into TRS. And not all of what I was hoping to do has config files (that I can find). If I were to just place the files where would i put them?

peter

Quote from: NS_37
and this is our part of the forum... ill post naked jewish midget slamdancing if i want to. :P

Offline KiwiRail

  • Forum Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1073
  • Formerly known as Rugrat
    • Scale Impaired
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2011, 07:09:01 AM »
lol editing .ja files...



SKIPPY

Tyler Bishop

  • Guest
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2011, 12:33:08 PM »
Just extract the JA wth that gamefile extractor app.. can never think of the name and name the folder the same as the .ja

So world.ja becomes world.  Simply rename the world.ja to world.ja.arch

There ya go.

Easy as pie and up yours auran.

Offline Sparky

  • Engineer
  • Posts: 169
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2011, 04:26:05 PM »
FWIW.
With TC1&2, I found you could delete the two route JA files, leaving the core and yardmaster, and have a fully working program. All you have are the ground textures, built in industries minus the track for them and portals, which need to be edited for different rolling stock. I also found that for some reason, opening a built in item for edit created a duplicate, even after committing. What I did was copy all the JA files from TRS2006 into TC, opened for edit, recommitted then copied the local files to an external hard drive. You could do that with the editing folder before committing as well. Once I had all that, I deleted the JA files from the game, leaving the core and yardmaster. Import the content from the external and delete what you don't want. Hope any of that made sense. Nice clean install minus all the stuff I don't use.

I also found TS2009 works great deleting the four built in JA files. The only thing I lost was the ability to alter water color. I tried the open for edit, copy somewhere else and commit thing but the errors where too much to correct on import so didn't go any further with it.

Hope any of this makes sense.

Dave.........
« Last Edit: February 09, 2011, 04:29:11 PM by Sparky »

Offline PerRock

  • Road Foreman
  • *
  • Posts: 478
  • Official #trainz chat killer
    • Amtrak Trainz Group
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2011, 05:36:42 PM »
thanks guys got it going! Next up is to finish tweaking the snow.






peter

Quote from: NS_37
and this is our part of the forum... ill post naked jewish midget slamdancing if i want to. :P

Offline titaniclover

  • Trainmaster
  • **
  • Posts: 605
  • I'm Nobody. Nobody is perfect. I'm perfect.
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2011, 06:12:21 PM »
I feel retarded asking, but what exactly happens when you edit the JA files?  ???
:yay: :boomboomboom: :yay:
GOING, Going, gone...

Offline PerRock

  • Road Foreman
  • *
  • Posts: 478
  • Official #trainz chat killer
    • Amtrak Trainz Group
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2011, 06:24:59 PM »
editing the JA files allows you in essence 'hack the game' the contain a large quantity of built in items that are locked out of your grasp, & other things like particle effects, sounds, error windows, etc.

peter

Quote from: NS_37
and this is our part of the forum... ill post naked jewish midget slamdancing if i want to. :P

Offline CR6641

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1263
    • thoroughbredrrmodels
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2011, 08:19:53 PM »
Got the built in SD70s out of the Ja files thanks to my friend. And started to work on this


- Mike Tierney
Haters gon hate

Offline PerRock

  • Road Foreman
  • *
  • Posts: 478
  • Official #trainz chat killer
    • Amtrak Trainz Group
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2011, 03:23:50 AM »
got a new question for someone who has played around with the JAs more then I (I'll keep looking into this). I've made a new nightsky_stars_b.tga (and an a, but I'll come to that) file put it into game, and now I cannot get the 'a' file to show up at all. I made a new 'a' file, put the old one back in, still won't show up. Checked the old & new 'a' files, the only difference is the total number of colors used. But that doesn't explain the original not working. Suggestions? I'll get a pic up of why this is an issue later.

peter

Quote from: NS_37
and this is our part of the forum... ill post naked jewish midget slamdancing if i want to. :P

Offline 007007

  • Forum Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1479
  • do not listen to 007007
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2011, 11:59:29 AM »
I'm pretty sure one of the "starlight" files is the headlight texture????  Just a quick response.  No thought put into it.    :knowitall:
« Last Edit: February 18, 2011, 12:51:45 AM by 007007 »


[11:09:03 AM | Edited 11:09:12 AM] Justin C: that terrible moment when you can smell your own balls

"Endless SchwimpFest...ate 100 schwimps...ordered extra biscuits..."

Offline NS_37

  • JointedRail Artist
  • Global Administrator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1245
  • This is personal
    • JointedRailProductions
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2011, 03:26:19 PM »
its something really stupid like that. i remember trying this years ago too.


Offline PerRock

  • Road Foreman
  • *
  • Posts: 478
  • Official #trainz chat killer
    • Amtrak Trainz Group
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2011, 08:28:24 PM »
Not sure how that could cause any problems, as I haven't touched the coronas at all (beyond extracting everything from the JA).

here is the screenshot of the problem as promised:

(click pic for bigger)

peter

Quote from: NS_37
and this is our part of the forum... ill post naked jewish midget slamdancing if i want to. :P

Offline Backyard

  • Road Foreman
  • *
  • Posts: 315
Re: Editing JA files
« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2011, 09:08:18 PM »
 O0 I'm confused as to exactly why you want to tamper with .ja files...what purpose will it serve?  What will you do if you corrupt the game & have to start over?

What informed source are you using, seeing that NV3 will not support this, may take action against anyone who does?

Take for example, the L SD70 Conrail.  I have one that shows up in-game, works & I did not have to hack anything.

Designing content based on default content?  Nothing you can find to do is not available for your efforts to do it like the book says.

Concentrate instead on scripting!  Make working wipers, or a sunset, or a traincar or a tree...

But the generation of a published taboo topic, whether you complete your endeavor or not or continue or not, leaves a virtual trail of information that has absolutely nothing to do with improving the game & deflects concentration from valid content creation to useless discussion of something with no official support.
...'don't be a'hatin'...