Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Modeling: 3DS Max & Gmax Q & A  (Read 35939 times)

Offline TasteOfIrony

  • Trainmaster
  • **
  • Posts: 667
  • I'm not your friend budday
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #45 on: June 16, 2010, 09:56:31 PM »
How do you make a sign re-nameable in game. For example a sign like this:

Guilty by Association

Offline gfisher

  • Forum Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #46 on: June 17, 2010, 11:02:42 AM »
You can't. Trainz only supports one line of text or numbers.

Edit: Well maybe I shouldn't be quite so quick. There may be a way to do it using scripting similar to Maddy's US highway signs, but I have no idea how it works.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2010, 11:05:43 AM by gfisher »

"Beer is proof that God wants us to be happy." - Thomas Jefferson

Offline socalwb909

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1041
  • So. Cal. White Boy 909
    • Facebook
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #47 on: June 17, 2010, 12:01:58 PM »
You can't. Trainz only supports one line of text or numbers.

Edit: Well maybe I shouldn't be quite so quick. There may be a way to do it using scripting similar to Maddy's US highway signs, but I have no idea how it works.
-wouldn't you be able to give it 3 lines? that way you could put in 3 individual numbers! just a thought. bnsf50 told me the same thing that's why on his there horizontal and not vertical.
-Joe

Offline gfisher

  • Forum Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #48 on: June 17, 2010, 02:16:48 PM »
Quote
-wouldn't you be able to give it 3 lines?
Not unless it was scripted somehow.

"Beer is proof that God wants us to be happy." - Thomas Jefferson

Offline CSX4527

  • Brakeman
  • Posts: 18
  • 1006 MBTA
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #49 on: June 24, 2010, 06:03:16 PM »
Yes I do, both are ready for modify and ready for passenger service O0

Offline chipallen16

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 914
  • The Southern Serves the South
    • Youtube - Chip Allen's Channel
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #50 on: October 01, 2010, 01:49:40 PM »
Alright, I've got a dilemma. I'm trying to make a Conrail milepost from standard plans. I have the shape built in 3ds Max, which is compatible with Gmax. Now, I need to texture and script the model, and I know how to do neither of the tasks. Thank you for any help or consideration.







Thanks again!
-Chip

Offline Conrail88

  • Engineer
  • Posts: 162
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #51 on: December 02, 2010, 10:28:24 PM »
Hey guys,

I'm into Gmax.  I'd like to start (And need to start) creating a few things for my routes.  I have run into a problem though.  To get a hang of Gmax I have created a 53ft Container Chassis.  When I go to export, I get an error say "Ignoring Mesh - Material missing from _______"for every shape I have on the Trailer.  How do I fix this?  I am exporting it as an .im file, I have the "Trainz Assest Creation Studio" installed.

Thanks for the help!

Take care,

Ryan

Offline socalwb909

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1041
  • So. Cal. White Boy 909
    • Facebook
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #52 on: December 02, 2010, 11:03:03 PM »

Offline TasteOfIrony

  • Trainmaster
  • **
  • Posts: 667
  • I'm not your friend budday
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #53 on: December 02, 2010, 11:41:16 PM »
Hey Joe, are you able to change the numbers on your signs, or do you have skin each one individually?
Guilty by Association

Offline chipallen16

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 914
  • The Southern Serves the South
    • Youtube - Chip Allen's Channel
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #54 on: December 02, 2010, 11:48:03 PM »
-wow nice, i just made one of those!
front: http://hostthenpost.org/uploads/a854706f142c2561cd96457590e80f68.jpg
back: http://hostthenpost.org/uploads/15d72d6be31f6b5c5723d3eb578879c3.jpg

-Joe

Thanks. Yours is quite awesome! This is my first asset (other than a route and a hornsound), and I'm not too good with gmax/3ds max. I built the sign in Autodesk Inventor and exported it to 3ds max. I'm really stuck. I'd like to be able to change the bottom number and skin the top two in '11_',  '12_', and '13_' for the Conrail Lincoln Secondary. Where would I go at this point?

Thanks!
-Chip

Offline socalwb909

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1041
  • So. Cal. White Boy 909
    • Facebook
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #55 on: December 03, 2010, 12:15:01 AM »
Hey Joe, are you able to change the numbers on your signs, or do you have skin each one individually?
-I didn't make mine changeable. I just made the 1/2, 1/4, and 3/4 and left versions too.

Thanks. Yours is quite awesome! This is my first asset (other than a route and a hornsound), and I'm not too good with gmax/3ds max. I built the sign in Autodesk Inventor and exported it to 3ds max. I'm really stuck. I'd like to be able to change the bottom number and skin the top two in '11_',  '12_', and '13_' for the Conrail Lincoln Secondary. Where would I go at this point?

Thanks!
-Chip
-I'm still learning too! if its just a skin and not renameable, after mapping of the sign you can use render uvw template or render to texture then take the tga, jpeg, etc file to photoshop paint it there then use the material editor to apply the texture then export... to sum it up real quick. but don't forget im a noob at this too, hopefully someone with more knowledge will be able to answer this better!

EDIT: and thanks to your drawing ima need to update mine lol!

-Joe
« Last Edit: December 03, 2010, 12:23:45 AM by socalwb909 »

Offline socalwb909

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1041
  • So. Cal. White Boy 909
    • Facebook
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #56 on: December 03, 2010, 07:19:04 AM »
- At Trainkid16

-This is what i realized in experimenting tonight. Without scripting you will be screwed. But if you have just 2 vertical numbers you might be able to get away with it. Example on mine: http://hostthenpost.org/uploads/1b1562893fac693d9be26e5e7e289558.jpg I want 3 different numbers but as you can see they stay horizontal. But if you skinned in just the top number say it was a 2, then you can have your re-nameable number below it and number it 0 - 9. That way you can number anything from 20 to 29. But if you want 3 numbers, i dont know except for scripting solutions.

-Joe

Offline chipallen16

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 914
  • The Southern Serves the South
    • Youtube - Chip Allen's Channel
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #57 on: December 03, 2010, 08:40:42 AM »
- At Trainkid16

-This is what i realized in experimenting tonight. Without scripting you will be screwed. But if you have just 2 vertical numbers you might be able to get away with it. Example on mine: http://hostthenpost.org/uploads/1b1562893fac693d9be26e5e7e289558.jpg I want 3 different numbers but as you can see they stay horizontal. But if you skinned in just the top number say it was a 2, then you can have your re-nameable number below it and number it 0 - 9. That way you can number anything from 20 to 29. But if you want 3 numbers, i dont know except for scripting solutions.

-Joe
Thanks. I'll just mess around with it today and see what I get.

-Chip

Offline Zorronov

  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • also known as Fred
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #58 on: December 03, 2010, 12:13:14 PM »
...if you have just 2 vertical numbers you might be able to get away with it. Example on mine: http://hostthenpost.org/uploads/1b1562893fac693d9be26e5e7e289558.jpg I want 3 different numbers but as you can see they stay horizontal. But if you skinned in just the top number say it was a 2, then you can have your re-nameable number below it and number it 0 - 9. That way you can number anything from 20 to 29. But if you want 3 numbers, i dont know except for scripting solutions.

-Joe

See screenshot and accompanying comment here:

http://trainzforums.com/index.php/topic,94.msg50066.html#new

Cheers,

Fred

Offline gfisher

  • Forum Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Gmax Q & A
« Reply #59 on: December 03, 2010, 01:36:45 PM »
Here's a kind of general Gmax question to the gurus who do this sort of thing. When you have a complex object with both inner and outer surfaces such as my canoe below or say a passenger car body, how do you get at the inner surface to apply a seperate texture to it without all the exterior surfaces getting in the way? It can get hard to see what you are doing and all too easy to miss something. Is there a preferred approach to this sort of thing?


"Beer is proof that God wants us to be happy." - Thomas Jefferson